COVID-19 RESOURCES FOR EDUCATORS-NON PROFITS AND PARENTS

FOR FACTUAL INFORMATION ABOUT COVID-19 VIRUS FROM THE CDC PLEASE GO THE THE FOLLOWING:

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/symptoms.html

TOOLKIT FROM THE NATIONAL ALLIANCE FOR GRIEVING CHILDREN: RESPONDING TO CHANGE AND LOSS

The NAGC would like to encourage everyone to prioritize self-care. For many of us, there is grief in the loss of normalcy, and we encourage you to hold space for that. We want you to know you are not alone in the experience, the challenges it may be creating and the feelings that may be surfacing. In response to this, the NAGC (with the support of Alex Cares for Grieving Youth®) has released the booklet “Coping with Change and Loss” to be shared freely with families. 

https://indd.adobe.com/view/924b5436-fca0-4a15-901a-9233134766e4

For many that offer grief support to children, teens and those that care for them there are many challenges as a result of the social distancing that is necessary in light of the global pandemic. With the support of Alex Cares for Grieving Youth ® we are creating a series of three webinars that focus on program challenges our membership is experiencing. These are free and open to everyone. Please join us and share so we can support the widest audience possible.
Click on the titles to learn more and to register.

COVID-19 Connections: Tele-therapy in a Time of Need 
March 19, 2020 | 1:00 p.m. Eastern | 10:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour) This Webinar is Now Available for Download on the NAGC website
Presented by Alesia K. Alexander, LCSW, CT

Strategies for Managing Anxiety and Fear for You and Your Children
March 24, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)  This Webinar is Now Available for Download on the NAGC website
Presented by Melissa Lunardini, M.A., MBA

KEEP CALM and Join Us
March 26, 2020 | 4:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Pacific (1 hour)  This Webinar is Now Available for Download on the NAGC website
Presented by Michelle Post, MA, LMFT

The Dougy Center – The National Center for Grieving Children & Families

WHEN YOUR WORLD IS ALREADY UPSIDE DOWN: Supporting Grieving Children and Teens During COVID-19

In the midst of personal loss and life changes, grieving children, teens, and adults are needing to alter and disrupt their daily lives even more. Although physical distancing doesn’t mean we can’t still find ways to connect, it’s hard to substitute technology for in-person hugs, tears, and nods of understanding. On top of this, the person we would have turned to for support in all of this might be the person who died.

We’ve put together some tips and information for helping kids, teens, and families already grieving a death, cope during COVID-19. Download the tip sheet here.